skip navigation
Home Minor Hawks Jr. C Hawks Calendar News

Minor Hawks

2017 Registration - Spring Field

Registration for 2017 Spring Field and Women’s field is open.

WE ARE LIVE for OMFLL Spring Field and OWFL Girls Field!

We are aiming for a team in each division for the Spring Field Season, but without registration we cannot guarantee this. 

The dead line to declare teams is fast approaching.
Teams need to be declared to the OMFLL by March 1st, 2017.
If you are thinking of registering, please go to the Registration tab to get the link.

registration deadline:   February 26th, 2017.

Divisions for the Spring season are U9, U11, U13, U15, U17.
This correlates with the Tyke, Novice, Peewee, Bantam and Midget age Divisions.

2017 LACROSSE REGISTRATION is now underway!

To register for 2017, your players' account must be in good standing with the HDMLA.


Details posted under - Minor Hawks - Registration Tab



2017 Winter Skills and Drills

This program is designed to give the first and second year kids a head start in their stick handling and to try out a sport they have never had the option to try before. This year it is Wednesday nights at VK Greer Public School in Port Sydney: 

Wednesdays - February 01, 08,15,22 March 01, 08

Ages 4 to 7 @  6-7 pm

Ages 8 to 12 @  7-8 pm

Register at the door.  Bring your player's Birth Certificate.

Registration fee = $20.00

Equipment needed:  helmet with a face mask, gloves, running shoes and gym attire required.  We will supply the stick if you don’t have one.

Dan Caswell

Director of Development/Houseleague

Hawks Minor Box Lacrosse


February 07 and 21

March 07 and 21

When: 6:00 pm - 8:00 pm

Where:  Canada Summit Centre



Team Ontario Update #4

Congratulations to Kaiya Roberson, in Bantam, and Alexis Roberson, in Midget, for winning Gold Medals  at the Girls Box Lacrosse Nationals held in Calgary last week!

We have two more Huntsville Hawks that have achieved Team Ontario Positions but this time on the Field instead of in the Box.  Caleb Creasor and Jason Knox attended the last tryout for the U18 Team last night in Oshawa. With approximately 30 participants, and 4 of those goalies, Creasor, a Goalie, and Knox, a face off/Middie/attack player were offered positions at the end of the tryout. The boys are of the youngest year to be on the team as they turn 16 later this year. This was Knox's first return to contact play since his injury sustained at OMFLL Field provincials this past spring.

Last but not least, on a bench Level, we can not forget to Mention that the Huntsville Hawks are represented well. Gus McLaughlin is the Trainer for the Peewee Box Team Ontario for the 7th year straight, and our HDMLA President, Jason Rudge, is A member of the U15 Team Ontario Men's field lacrosse team bench/management.

Both the U15 and U18 Men's Field teams will compete September 2-4 in Winnepeg Mannitoba. The Box Nationals will be at the Lax Festival in Whitby between the Ontario Provincial Games.

Congratulations to all Hawks!!

Team Ontario Update #3

Team Ontario.  Congratulations Brett! Unfortunately Jason Knox's injury has taken him out of the running for this year.  

WE now have a couple Players trying out for the U15 and U18 Team Ontario Field teams June 29th. Details to come soon! 

Team Ontario Update #2

From the Midget Box boys second tryout, Midget Hawk, Jason Knox, has been called back for the third and final tryout.   He will be attending the tryout - but watching from the stands - as he received a broken collar bone at Field Provincials on the May long weekend.  His return to play date is still pending and is still in consideration for the team. We also have Midget Hawk, Brett Handsor, able to attend the the third tryout. As Brett was unable to attend the first two tryouts due to being out of the country with school, consideration for his participation on the team will be decided on the single tryout. Both Players participated on Team Ontario for the Bantam Box Team Ontario in 2014. This was held in NewWestminster B.C.  Handsor also participated on Peewee Box Team Ontario 2012 in Whitby Ontario.

Team Ontario Update

Alexis and Kaiya Roberson

Newest Team Ontario Members for Girls Box Lacrosse 2016

The Huntsville Minor Hawks had 4 peewees and 1 Bantam take part in a grueling  Identification camp last month trying out for Team Ontario 2016, and 3 Midget Box players go to the first Midget Box Team Ontario Tryout  as well as 2 Girls Box Players trying out this month.  As of May 15 none of our peewees nor our Bantam have received a call back but we have two Midget Box Players, Jason Knox and Cole Hanrahan, receiving call backs for the second Midget tryout this Friday.  The Hawks are also hoping that once Brett Handsor returns from school he will also be considered to attend a tryout for Midget. However both girls, Kaiya and Alexis Roberson have made their respective Girls Box teams! 

A previous Minor Hawk, who now plays with an Orillia Girls Box Team, Shelby Ludlow, has also made Team Ontario for her age group of Intermediate.

Congratulations to the Girls and Good Luck to the Midgets on their call back Friday May 20 from 10am - 4pm in Bomanville.

In June the Field Lacrosse Team Ontario teams will be trying out and presently Huntsville has 5 players signed up to attend this. 


Did you know that Lacrosse is Canada’s original National Sport? Come out and try your hand (and body) at the Canadian National Summer Sport. The Huntsville and District Minor Lacrosse Association includes the areas of Gravenhurst, Bracebridge, Baysville, Lake of Bays, Parry Sound, Burks Falls, Sundridge and South River.

What Division will my Player be in?

Divisions for box lacrosse players are set by birth year.

They are as follows:

  • Paperwieghts (2011, 2012, 2013)
  • Tyke      (2009, 2010)
  • Novice   (2007, 2008)
  • Peewee (2005, 2006)
  • Bantam  (2003, 2004)
  • Midgets  (2001, 2002)

Divisions for field lacrosse players are set by age as of December 31st, 2017.

They are as follows:

  • U9 (Tyke) 7 and 8 year olds
  • U11 (Novice) 9 and 10 year olds
  • U13 (Peewee) 11 and 12 year olds
  • U15 (Bantam) 13 and 14 year olds
  • U16 (Midget) 15 and 16 year olds
  • U16  FALL BALL (13) 14,15 year olds


Held at 7:00 pm on the third Wednesday of each month.  They are held at the Canada Summit Centre in the Peter Jacob Centre To get on the Agenda for the next meeting, please contact HDMLA President  one week PRIOR to the meeting.


Who will be the 2017 NLL Champions?